The official website of the City of Semmes, Alabama.

Planning Commission

The Official Website of Semmes, AL

Mission Statement

To foster future growth while preserving the rural character of the community through partnerships with the community, developers, and interested parties that wish to benefit the citizenry of Semmes and the City as a whole. To ensure the growth of the community is applicably supported by the communities’ infrastructure such as public safety, parks and recreation, utilities, traffic, through intense research and fact finding endeavors.


Note: Please call to schedule a Project Proposal Conference before submitting your application. This meeting is at no charge to you and gives you the opportunity to meet with members of the Planning Staff for guidance on the Subdivision Regulations and the process to follow. All PPCs should be scheduled with Jason Franklin, Public Works Superintendent at (251) 649-5752.
          PPCs are held each Tuesday at 1:00 PM, 2:00 PM, & 3:00 PM.

Planning Commission

The Planning Commission will meet (Regular Session) on the 2nd & 4th Tuesdays of each month – 5:00 PM (unless otherwise re-scheduled for a different time/date) – at City of Semmes Council Chambers @ 7875 Moffett Road, Unit #C (unless specifically posted otherwise).  Special meetings can be called by the Chair – those meeting notices will be posted on the City’s website.

Jason Franklin

Jason Franklin

Planning Director

3940 Illinois Street
Semmes, AL 36575

Phone: (251) 649-5752

Fax: (251) 649-5788

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 1757
Semmes, AL 36575

Monday – Friday
7:30 am – 4:00 pm

Commission Members

Planning Commission Members

Mayor Pro-Tempore Helen Joyce – Chairman

Hon. Dillon Turk – Planning Commissioner (Mayor Designee)

Hon. Tara Davenport – Planning Commissioner

Hon. Russell Turner – Co Chair

Hon. Jeanette Byrd- Planning Commissioner

Hon. Charles Lowery- Planning Commissioner

Hon. Joey McCullough – Planning Commissioner

Hon. Gary Smith- Planning Commissioner

Hon. Elizabeth Lovelady- Planning Commissioner (City Staff Designee)

Term Ends

During Tenure as Council Member

During Tenure of Mayor

August 11, 2021

August 11, 2025

August 11, 2024

August 11, 2023

August 11, 2022

August 11, 2024

During Tenure of Mayor

The City of Semmes

Phone: (251) 649-8811

Fax: (251) 649-7711

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1757, Semmes, AL 36575

City Hall Address: 7875 Moffett Road, Suite F, Semmes, AL 36575

Office Hours: Monday – Friday | 9:00 am – 5:00 pm

Copyright © 2020 City of Semmes, Alabama. All Rights Reserved. Official website of the City of Semmes, Alabama Municipal Government.

Designed and hosted by The L Connection Inc.